Andrew Sarris Memorial Scholarship

2013 Scholarship Recipient Named


The Film Program of Columbia University's School of the Arts is proud to announce the establishment of the Andrew Sarris Memorial Award for Film Criticism, an annual cash prize in honor of the celebrated film professor and critic who died in 2012. The recipient is Columbia College senior film major Anneliese Cooper for her essay, "Positively Anti-Realist: Art, Artifice, and the Power of Fiction in the Films of Pedro Almodovar."
She will receive $750.

For the first year, nominations were made by Caryn James--professor of the Fall 2012 "Writing Film Criticism" seminar--from among her students' work, and by professors of the Senior Seminar in Film Studies. Faculty members Annette Insdorf and Nico Baumbach, along with film critic Molly Haskell, made the final selection with her.


You can make a tax-deductible donation to the Andrew Sarris Memorial Scholarship Award - which will be given annually to a student in the Film Program of Columbia University's School of the Arts for excellence in film criticism.

Please make checks payable to Columbia University, with Andrew Sarris Award in the memo line.

Send all checks to:
Roberta W. Albert
Associate Dean for Development
Columbia University School of the Arts
305 Dodge Hall, MC 1803
New York, NY 10027

You can also donate online:
>> Select Arts, School of the as the “School or Division”
>> Select Other as the "Designation"
>> On the following page, in“Comments/Special Instructions,” type Andrew Sarris Memorial Award